The first of the “big three” tarpon tournaments held each year in Islamorada, Florida during the famed tarpon migration, The Golden Fly attracts top fly anglers and world class guides to test their skills in this 3 day, invitational only, fly fishing tournament.

The 29th Golden Fly Invitational Tarpon Tournament will be held May 22-24, 2023. The tournament will launch from the Lorelei Restaurant and Marina in Islamorada, Florida. Tournament winners receive custom art and sculpture from notable wildlife artists as well as the latest gear and apparel from the premier fly fishing brands in the industry.


1995No winnerBoyd Walker
1996Billy Pate/Lee BakerBoyd Walker
1997Peek Garlington/Tim HooverRobert Sherman
1998Andy Mill/Paul TejeraRobert Sherman
1999Mike Quigley/Mark KrowkaMike Quigley
2000Andy Mill/Paul TejeraTom Taylor/Raiford Trask
2001Linda Robinson/Tony TraadPat Ford
2002Andy Mill/Paul TejeraPat Ford
2003Andy Mill/Paul TejeraPat Ford
2004Andy Mill/Doug KilpatrickPat Ford
2005Charles Duncan III/Rob FordycePat Ford
2006David Seetapun/John O’HearnPat Ford
2007Tim Mahaffey/Rick MurphyPat Ford
2008David Dalu/Scott CollinsPat Ford
2009Baker Bishop/Brian HelmsPat Ford
2010Baker Bishop/Brian HelmsPat Ford
2011Greg Smith/Rob FordycePat Ford
2012Mark Richens/Jared RaskobPat Ford
2013Julian Robertson/Joe RodriguezSteve Ward
2014Roger Fernandez/Tad BurkeSteve Ward
2015Andy Mill/Rob FordyceSteve Ward
2016Ed Young/Scott CollinsSteve Ward
2017Julian Robertson/Rich CampiolaSteve Ward
2018Glenn Flutie/Steve ThomasSteve Ward
2019Ryan Seiders/Rob FordyceSteve Ward
2020No Tournament PoondemicSteve Ward
2021Tyler Shealey/Steven TejeraSteve Ward
2022Bart Knellinger/Bear HolemanSteve Ward


Please support our generous sponsors.


Follow us on Instagram and share your adventures with us using the hashtag #goldenflytarpontournament.

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins
There has been a problem with your Instagram Feed.